## 2018 Permissive Code Task Force Second Meeting December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2019 Minutes

#### MEETING BEGINS - 10:00 AM

### WELCOME

- Tracy Hester, Chairman, welcomed everyone and Introductions were made around the room of task force members, DCA staff, interested parties and guests.
- Tracy asked everyone take a few minutes to review the minutes of the last meeting.
- After reviewing the Minutes Stanley Richardson made motion to accept the minutes as written. The motion was 2<sup>nd</sup> by Robert Sturgess, and passed unanimously
- Tracy asked the Task Force members who were absent at the first meeting to read and sign a
  Disclosure Statement.
- Tracy then recognized Jimmy Reynolds, DCA Staff Liaison, to answer questions posed to the DCA at the last meeting.

#### RESEARCH ITEMS (see attached chart)

- Jimmy informed the Task Force that no other Georgia amendments referenced other Georgia code amendments.
- Elaine Powers then make a motion to revert to the original wording of the amendment (#4 on attached chart) which was 2<sup>nd</sup> by William Hover. This motion passed unanimously.
- Deirdre Leclair made motion to approve Chapter 5 of the IPMC as amended with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.

## AMENDMENTS FROM THE TASK FORCE

- Daniel Biamonte discussed the need for a general statement in the Code Reference section of the IPMC discussing the need for Fire Marshall Regulations to preempt IPMC. This language is to be drafted by the State and submitted for review at the next meeting.
- Daniel Biamonte then discussed some language that he wanted in chapter 9 of the IEBC and made 2 motions
- Daniel Biamonte made a motion to delete section 904 and replace with "See Rules and Regulations of the Safety Fire Commissioner Chapter 120-3-3 Rules and Regulations for the State Minimum Fire Safety Standards" with Robert Sturgess as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Daniel Baimonte made a motion to delete section 905 and replace with "See Rules and Regulations of the Safety Fire Commissioner Chapter 120-3-3 Rules and Regulations for the State Minimum Fire Safety Standards" with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously

## **PRESENTATION**

 Tracey then turned over the meeting to Jim Cika from ICC for the presentation on the code changes of IPMC and the IEBC.

Lunch Break- Lunch was served during the presentation at 11:45am

## IEBC REVIEW (See attached amendment report.)

### • Code Reference

- Daniel Biamonte discussed the need for a general statement in the Code Reference section of the IEBC discussing the need for Fire Marshall Regulations to preempt IEBC.
   This language is to be drafted by the State and submitted for review at the next meeting.
- Chapter 1 'Scope and Administration'
  - Stanley Richardson made a motion to accept Chapter 1 as written with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 2 'Definitions'
  - Elaine Powers made a motion to accept Chapter 2 as written with Stanley Richardson as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 3 'Provisions for all Compliance Methods'
  - Discussion of outside amendment #6 from Mark Schroeder, and Mark agreed to redraft the language for clarification and resubmission at the next meeting.
- Chapter 4 'Repairs'
  - Susan Carpenter made a motion to put forward new amendment #7 with Robert Sturgess as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
  - Robert Sturgess made a motion to accept Chapter 4 as amended with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 5 'Prescriptive Compliance Method'
  - Daniel Baiamonte made a motion to accept Chapter 5 as written with Duane Helton as
     2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 6 'Classification of Work'
  - Elaine Powers made a motion to accept Chapter 6 as written with Patrick Peterson as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 7 'Alterations Level 1'
  - Elaine Powers made a motion to put forward new amendment #8 with Robert Sturgess as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
  - William Hover made a motion to accept Chapter 7 as amended with Duane Helton as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 8 'Alterations Level 2'
  - Elaine Powers made a motion to accept Chapter 8 as written with Patrick Peterson as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 9 'Alterations Level 3'
  - Daniel Baiamonte discussed that the previous 2 amendments to 904 and 905 passed earlier today would not be necessary as they would be covered by the general statement at the beginning of the Code Reference Section.
  - Daniel Baiamonte made a motion to withdrawal those 2 amendment with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously
  - Daniel Baiamonte made a motion to accept Chapter 9 as written with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 10 'Change of Occupancy'
  - Deirdre Leclair made a motion to accept Chapter 10 as written with Tim Tackett as 2<sup>nd</sup>.
     This motion passed unanimously.

- Chapter 11 'Additions'
  - $\circ$  Robert Sturgess made a motion to accept Chapter 11 as written with Duane Helton as  $2^{nd}$ . This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 12 'Historic Buildings'
  - William Hover made a motion to carry forward amendment #9 with Sadie Krawczyk as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
  - William Hover made a motion to accept Chapter 12 as amended with Sadie Krawczyk as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 13 'Performance Compliance Methods'
  - Robert Sturgess made a motion to accept Chapter 13 as written with Duane Helton as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 14 'Relocated or Moved Buildings'
  - William Hover made a motion to accept Chapter 14 as written with Sadie Krawczyk as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 15 'Construction Safeguards'
  - William Hover made a motion to accept Chapter 15 as written with Sadie Krawczyk as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.
- Chapter 16 'Referenced Standards'
  - Robert Sturgess made a motion to accept Chapter 16 as written with Elaine Powers as 2<sup>nd</sup>. This motion passed unanimously.

#### **CONCLUSION OF MEETING**

- No other Old or New Business.
- The next meeting will be held on January 21st, 2020 at 10:00 in DCA Room 302.

# ADJOURN – 11:30 AM MEETING ATTENDEES

- TASK FORCE MEMBERS: Tracy Hester, Daniel Baiamonte, Susan Carpenter, Mark Gallman, Patrick Peterson, Deirdre Leclair, Duane Helton, Robert Sturgess, Sadie Krawczyk, Stanley Richardson, Elaine Powers, Tim Tackett, William Hover.
- DCA STAFF: Ted Miltiades, Jimmy Reynolds, Brendon Sexton, Donna Brown, Michael Sokenis.
- GUESTS: Bettie Sleeth-HBAG, Ryan Taylor-AIA, Windell Peters –SCAC, Jim Cika ICC,

## ATTACHMENTS:

• Proposed Amendment Report