Georgia Academy for Economic Development

  • Basic Info

The Georgia Academy for Economic Development was started in 1993 by a consortium of public and private organizations involved in economic development. The program is designed to enhance community leaders’ skills and knowledge so that more communities in Georgia may remain or become successful. Over 6500 Georgians have graduated from this program, which is supported by over twenty statewide organizations, with facilitators, coordinators and program management provided by Georgia EMC, Georgia Power, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs. This four-day course is offered each year in each region.

AN OVERVIEW OF THE CURRICULUM

  • Modules to enhance leadership skills
  • Modules to enhance community development knowledge
  • Modules to enhance economic development knowledge

REGIONAL PROGRAM INFORMATION

Four Sessions – One day each in four months.

All classes are held within the region, from 8 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Tuition is $265, which covers course materials, meals and refreshments for 4 days.

Fall : Classes in Regions 2, 3, 4, 7,10, and 12

Spring : Classes in Regions 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 11

For specific dates or more information, please contact the regional staff listed below for the region you are interested in attending, or contact Corinne.Thornton@dca.ga.gov.

Region                         Staff Contact                              Region                        Staff Contact

1

Spring 2018

Patrick.Vickers@dca.ga.gov

2

Fall 2018

Kathy.Papa@dca.ga.gov

5

Spring 2018

Beth.Eavenson@dca.ga.gov

3

Fall 2018

John.VanBrunt@dca.ga.gov

6

Spring 2018

Tonya.Mole@dca.ga.gov

4

Fall 2018

Corinne.Thornton@dca.ga.gov

8

Spring 2018

Casey.Beane@dca.ga.gov

7

Fall 2018

Tina.Hutcheson@dca.ga.gov

9

Spring 2018

Lynn.Ashcraft@dca.ga.gov

10

Fall 2018

Gina.Webb@dca.ga.gov

11

Spring 2018

Kelly.Lane@dca.ga.gov

12

Fall 2018

Jennifer.Fordham@dca.ga.gov