Nine Communities Designated as Rural Zones

New tools available to help revitalize rural downtowns


Atlanta, GA (December 29, 2017) – The state has designated the communities of Bainbridge, Commerce, Cornelia, Fitzgerald, Jonesboro, Nashville, Perry, Springfield, and Toccoa as Rural Zones, a new program enacted by the legislature in 2017.  Portions of each community – primarily historic downtown areas – are now zoned to allow for tax credits to eligible businesses that create jobs and stimulate economic activity in these communities. 


“The courthouse square and historic downtown has been the lifeblood of Georgia’s rural communities,” according to DCA Commissioner Christopher Nunn.  “The purpose of the Rural Zone is to encourage small business investment and job creation to help preserve these small town assets and stimulate economic activity in the community.”


Rural Zones focus on jobs creation and private investment in designated areas.  The program includes three tax credit incentives: a Job Tax Credit, Investment Credit, and Rehabilitation Credit.  For more information, please visit:      



About the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

The Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA) partners with communities to create a climate of success for Georgia’s families and businesses through community and economic development, local government assistance, and safe and affordable housing. Using state and federal resources, DCA helps communities spur private job creation, implement planning, develop downtowns, generate affordable housing solutions, and promote volunteerism. DCA also helps qualified low- and moderate-income Georgians buy homes, rent housing, and prevent foreclosure and homelessness. For more information, visit



MaryBrown Sandys, Director of Marketing & Communications

Georgia Department of Community Affairs

(o) 404-679-0661